Saturday, March 7, 2020

Full Crew Presents: RNB 2000 - Xclusive Sampler Pts 1 & 2 (VLS) (Diesel Records, 2000)

Diesel Records was a London-based independent urban label that was mainly known for the male New Jack Swing trio Kreuz. Formally on Motown Records in the early 90s, they released their sophomore album through the label before two members (Wayne Lawes and Rickardo Reid) formed the popular UK production/remixing team Full Crew. By the turn of the millennium Diesel became home to Full Crew Records before it went defunct in the early 2000s. With Lawes and Reid at the helm, they really began to shine with artists such as Sara Jane Skeete (daughter of 90s street soul singer Beverly Skeete), Floetry's Marsha Ambrosius and later Shaila Prospere. Prospere's single "Sorry" especially spent 16 weeks on London's Choice FM Station and her album was described as being one of the "best urban soul albums ever produced." Sadly many of the projects and Diesel Records went no further but Lawes and Reid remained popular as Full Crew, remixing singles from many popular artists not limited to Craig David, Mis-Teeq and others.

Disc 1
Kreuz - Hit You With The Ooh 4:20
Kreuz - Hit You With The Ooh (Instrumental) 4:20
Marsha - Movin' On 4:21
Marsha - Movin' On (Instrumental) 4:21

Disc 2
Sara Jane Skeete - Everyday 4:32
Sara Jane Skeete - Everyday (Instrumental) 4:32
Royston - Why 3:34
Royston - Why (Instrumental) 3:31