Thursday, October 19, 2017

Tamia: Album Advance (Promo CDr) (Elektra, 2003)

Another stalled project from the abysmal Elektra Records, well known for its delays and cancellations of many quality R&B projects in the late 90s-early-2000s era, but for once, from what I can tell, this one was beyond their control. It was Tamia's diagnosis with multiple sclerosis that pushed this one back by a year though due to the label's wish to include productions by Poke and Tone the version that they released in the end was drastically different. Originally titled "Still", the album was to have the above track-listing but upon its release in 2004 five tracks had been pulled in favor of a cover song and lackluster collaborations with rappers. LQ Internet leaks of "Hold Up" and "Don't Think" have been in
circulation for many years but up until now they came from an unknown source. Both were written and produced by Mario Winans. Other songs from the session include "Mr Cool", "Why Ask Why" and "Be Alright", which later appeared on The Transformer soundtrack. "No Way" was and still as available as a bonus track on some digital versions of the album while "It's A Party" later went on to appear on the soundtrack to the 2003 movie Honey. "Me" never leaked back then but did appear on her fourth album "Between Friends" in 2007.  It was written by 90s R&B vocalist Puff Johnson, who  was mostly known for her 1996 single "Forever More."

Mr. Cool 3:29
Officially Missing You 4:01
Still 4:28
It's A Party 3:23
Questions 3:27
Why Ask Why 3:36
No Way 4:14
Hold Up 3:13
Smile 5:12
Don't Think 3:18
Whispers 4:16
Poetry 4:30
Me 4:46
Tomorrow 4:39