Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Coko: Hot Coko [JP Retail] (RCA, 1999)

The debut solo effort from SWV's Cheryl 'Coko' Clemons featuring stellar production from Rodney Jerkins and Brian Alexander Morgan. It is a solid first effort, comprising of a mixture of SWV-esque ballads and DC-esque man-hating pop songs. Unfortunately neither the singles nor the album made much of an impact on the charts and owing to the closing of RCA's urban division, Hot Coko is thus far Clemons' only non-gospel solo release.

This particular edition includes two bonus tracks He Be Back (produced by Timbaland) and the Laney Stewart-produced This Ain't Love. He Be Back was originally featured on the soundtrack to the film Why Do Fools Fall In Love and features an uncredited appearance by Missy Elliott 

Intro 0:40
Don't Wake Your Love Away 4:10
Sunshine 4:08
You And Me 4:27
Bigger Than Me 4:37
Try-Na Come Home 4:08
Trifiln' (Featuring EVE) 4:47
I Ain't Feelin You 4:27
Everytime 5:07
All My Lovin' 5:02
If This World Were Mine (Duet With Tyrese) 5:22
So Hard To Say Goodbye 4:23
He Be Back 4:52
This Ain't Love 4:19